Skip to main content

People

  • faculty

  • Douglas Barrick

    Professor, Department of Biophysics

    • 410-516-0409
    • barrick@jhu.edu
    • Research Interests: Determination of an atomic-level description of structure and function in proteins
  • Karen Beemon

    Professor, Department of Biology

    • 410-516-7289
    • klb@jhu.edu
    • Research Interests: Role of TERT and microRNAs in oncogenesis, retroviral RNA stability
  • Alex Bortvin

    Adjunct Assistant Professor, Department of Biology; Staff, Carnegie Institution of Washington

    • 410-246-3034
    • bortvin@ciwemb.edu
    • Research Interests: Genetic and epigenetic controls of germ cell development and function in vertebrates
  • Gregory Bowman

    Associate Professor, Department of Biophysics

    • 410-516-7850
    • gdbowman@jhu.edu
    • Research Interests: Chromatin structure and nucleosome remodeling
  • Brian Camley

    Brian Camley

    Assistant Professor, Dapartment of Physics and Astronomy

  • Xin Chen

    Associate Professor, Department of Biology

    • 410-516-4576
    • xchen32@jhu.edu
    • 137 Levi Hall
    • Research Interests: Epigenetic regulation of Drosophila germ cell differentiation from a stem cell lineage
  • Kyle Cunningham

    Professor, Department of Biology

    • 410-516-7844
    • kwc@jhu.edu
    • 204 Biology East
    • Research Interests: Calcium signaling and mechanisms of gene expression in yeast
  • Jocelyne DiRuggiero

    Associate Research Professor, Department of Biology

    • 410-516-8498
    • jdiruggiero@jhu.edu
    • Research Interests: Molecular microbial ecology of extremophiles; molecular mechanisms of stress response
  • Chen-Ming Fan

    Adjunct Professor, Department of Biology; Staff, Carnegie Institution of Washington

    • 410-246-3022
    • fan@ciwemb.edu
    • Research Interests: Molecular patterning and embryonic induction during mouse early development
  • Steven A. Farber

    Adjunct Associate Professor, Department of Biology; Staff, Carnegie Institution of Washington

    • 410-246-3072
    • farber@ciwemb.edu
    • Research Interests: Real-time imaging of lipid metabolism in live zebrafish; identification of genes which regulate cholesterol absorption using biochemical and genetic strategies
  • Karen Fleming

    Associate Professor, Department of Biophysics

    • 410-516-7256
    • Karen.Fleming@jhu.edu
    • Jenkins 416
    • Research Interests: Structure, energetics, and folding of membrane proteins
  • Ernesto Freire

    Henry Walters Professor, Department of Biology

    • 410-516-7743
    • ef@jhu.edu
    • Research Interests: Structure-based thermodynamics of molecular recognition and function
  • Joseph Gall

    Adjunct Professor, Department of Biology; Staff, Carnegie Institution of Washington

    • 410-246-3017
    • gall@ciwemb.edu
    • Research Interests: Chromosome structure and function; nucleic acids in development
  • Bertrand Garcia-Moreno

    Bertrand Garcia-Moreno

    • 410-516-4497
    • bertrand@jhu.edu
    • Research Interests: Biophysical chemistry of regulatory interactions in proteins, nucleic acids, and their assemblies
  • Andrew Gordus

    Assistant Professor, Department of Biology

    • 410-516-6509
    • agordus@jhu.edu
    • 205 Biology East
    • Research Interests: Understanding how novel and innate behaviors are encoded at the cellular and genetic level
  • Marc M. Greenberg

    Professor

    • 410-516-8095
    • mgreenberg@jhu.edu
    • New Chemistry Building 313
    • Research Interests: Nucleic acid damage and repair
  • Taekjip Ha

    Professor, Department of Biophysics and Biophysical Chemistry, School of Medicine

    • tjha@jhu.edu
    • 619 WBSB
    • Research Interests: Single molecule and single cell analysis of nucleic acids, chromatin and mechanical biology
  • Marnie Halpern

    Adjunct Professor, Department of Biology; Staff, Carnegie Institution of Washington

  • Vincent Hilser

    Professor and Chair, Department of Biology

    • 410-516-4693
    • hilser@jhu.edu
    • Mudd 123
    • Research Interests: Protein conformational fluctuations and their role in function, adaptation and disease
  • Margaret Johnson

    Assistant Professor, Department of Biophysics

    • 410-516-2376
    • mjohn218@jhu.edu
    • Research Interests: Theoretical and computational modeling of protein interactions at the cellular scale
  • Robert Johnston

    Assistant Professor, Department of Biology

    • 410-516-4954
    • robertjohnston@jhu.edu
    • Research Interests: Stochastic gene expression and nuclear architecture in fly eyes and human retinal organoids
  • Christian Kaiser

    Assistant Professor, Department of Biology

    • 410-516-4486
    • kaiser@jhu.edu
    • Research Interests: Single-molecule biochemistry studies of the machines and processes in protein translation, translocation and folding
  • John Kim

    Associate Professor, Department of Biology

    • 410-516-3286
    • jnkim@jhu.edu
    • 389 UTL
    • Research Interests: Deciphering the biological function of microRNAs and other small RNAs expressed in the genome
  • Yumi Kim

    Assistant Professor

    • 410-516-6504
    • yumi.kim@jhu.edu
    • 385 UTL
    • Research Interests: Chromosome dynamics during meiosis
  • Alfredo Kirkwood

    Professor, Department of Neuroscience

    • 410-516-6410
    • kirkwood@jhu.edu
    • Research Interests: Cellular mechanisms that control learning and the formation of new memories throughout the lifespan
  • Rejji Kuruvilla

    Director, CMDB Graduate Program; Professor, Department of Biology

    • 410-516-2366
    • rkuruvilla@jhu.edu
    • Research Interests: Control of neuronal development by target-derived neurotrophins
  • Juliette Lecomte

    Professor, Department of Biophysics

  • Hey-Kyoung Lee

    Associate Professor, School of Medicine

    • 410-516-5712
    • heykyounglee@jhu.edu
    • Research Interests: Cellular and molecular mechanisms of synaptic plasticity underlying memory formation
  • William Ludington

    Staff, Department of Embryology, Carnegie Institution of Washington

    • (410) 246-3003
    • ludington@carnegiescience.edu
    • Rm 317, Maxine Singer Building (Carnegie Institution)
    • Research Interests: Mechanisms of complexity in microbiome-host interactions
  • Rajiv McCoy

    Assistant Professor, Department of Biology

    PhD (2015), Stanford University
    • 410-516-0942
    • rajiv.mccoy@jhu.edu
    • UTL 383
    • Research Interests: Computational genomics; human evolution and functional genetic variation
  • Sua Myong

    Associate Professor, Department of Biophysics

    • 410-516-7245
    • smyong@jhu.edu
    • Mergenthaler 168
    • Research Interests: Single molecule and single cell imaging of biological pathways including RNA interference, neurodegeneration, G-quadruplex, nucleosome and telomere processes
  • Elijah Roberts

    Assistant Professor, Department of Biophysics

    • 410-516-7243
    • eroberts@jhu.edu
    • Research Interests: Investigating the creation and use of in silico cell models
  • Steven Rokita

    Professor, Department of Chemistry

    • 410-516-5793
    • rokita@jhu.edu
    • Research Interests: Mechanistic and structural studies of enzymes, reversible but covalent reactivity of nucleic acids
  • Michael Schatz

    Bloomberg Distinguished Associate Professor of Computer Science and Biology

    • (410) 516-5765
    • mschatz@jhu.edu
    • Malone 323
    • Research Interests: My research interests are Genome sequencing, Comparative Genomics, Single Cell and Single Molecule Biology, Bioinformatics
  • Joel Schildbach

    Professor, Department of Biology; KSAS Vice Dean for Undergraduate Studies

    • 410-516-0176
    • joel@jhu.edu
    • UTL 379
    • Research Interests: Structural biology of bacterial conjugation
  • Robert Schleif

    Professor, Department of Biology

    • 410-516-5206
    • schleif@jhu.edu
    • Mudd 239
    • Research Interests: Protein-DNA interactions and regulation of gene activity
  • Trina Schroer

    Professor, Department of Biology

    • 410-516-5373
    • schroer@jhu.edu
    • Bio East 203
    • Research Interests: Microtubule-based motor proteins and their roles in cellular architecture
  • Allan Spradling

    Adjunct Professor, Department of Biology; Director, Carnegie Institution of Washington; Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute

  • James Taylor

    Associate Professor, Department of Biology

    • 410-516-0152
    • jxtx@jhu.edu
    • 391 UTL
    • Research Interests: Regulation of transcription, chromatin structure, computational genomics and bioinformatics
  • Craig A. Townsend

    Professor, Department of Chemistry

  • Mark Van Doren

    Professor, Department of Biology

    • 410-516-4717
    • vandoren@jhu.edu
    • Mudd 305B
    • Research Interests: Germ cell development and gonad formation
  • Beverly Wendland

    James B. Knapp Dean of the Krieger School of Arts & Sciences; Professor, Department of Biology

  • Sarah Woodson

    Professor, Department of Biophysics

    • 410-516-2015
    • swoodson@jhu.edu
    • Research Interests: Determination of three-dimensional folding of RNA
  • Carl Wu

    Professor, Department of Biology

    • 410-516-7496
    • wuc@jhu.edu
    • 387 UTL
    • Research Interests: Eukaryotic chromatin structure and function. Biochemistry of nucleosome remodeling and gene transcription, and live cell-single molecule imaging of histone and nuclear protein dynamics
  • Haiqing Zhao

    Professor, Department of Biology

    • 410-516-7391
    • hzhao@jhu.edu
    • Mudd 226
    • Research Interests: Function and development of olfactory sensory neurons
  • Yixian Zheng

    Adjunct Professor, Department of Biology; Staff, Carnegie Institution of Washington; Assistant Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute

    • 410-246-3032
    • zheng@ciwemb.edu
    • Research Interests: Mechanisms of cell division and genome organization in development, homeostasis, and aging
  • Sorry, No Results Found

    Try changing your search terms